Professor and Chancellor, Anurag University, ICFAI Dehradun

Uday B. Desai received the B. Tech. degree from Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India, in 1974, the M.S. degree from the State University of New York, Buffalo, in 1976, and the Ph.D. degree from The Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, U.S.A., in 1979, all in Electrical Engineering.

He was the Founding Director of IIT Hyderabad - June 2009 to June 2019. For nearly five years he served as the mentor Director for IIIT Chittoor, Sri City. He was also mentor Director for IIT Bhilai during its initial setting up phase. At present he is Prof. Emeritus, IIT Hyderabad. He is the Chancellor for Anurag University, Hyderabad, and Chancellor of ICFAI University Dehradun. He also an Honorary Distinguished Professor at Plaksha University. He also serves as a Strategic Consultant for TSDSI (Telecom Standards Development Society of India).

He was a faculty member at Washington State Univ., USA, Professor at IIT Bombay and Visiting Professor at several universities in USA and Europe. He was Honorary Professor Woosong University, South Korea.

His research interests are in wireless communication, wireless sensor networks, cyber physical systems, Internet of Things and AI. He is a co-author of 9 research monographs. He is the author/coauthor of nearly 300 peered reviewed papers in international journals and international conferences. Dr. Desai has graduated 25 Ph.D. students, and over 100 Masters students with thesis option.

Dr. Desai received the Outstanding Alumni Award from University of Buffalo (State University of New York) in 2015. In 2016 he received the Distinguished Alumni Award from IIT Kanpur. He is a Fellow of INSA (Indian National Science Academy), and Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE). He is the recipient of J C Bose Fellowship. He is also the recipient of the Excellence in Teaching Award from IIT-Bombay for 2007. He is a member of many central government committees and several governing councils of leading academic institutions. He chairs several committees under MEITY, DST, DRDO, and private organizations.